Blues

Music is essential to life, well to my life. It is representative of so many things, culture, milestones and celebrations. For me a music library is never stagnant. I made the mistake of changing to a more mobile MacBook from my trusty Mac desktop, failing to account for the 20 000 plus songs in my iTunes account. With no home to go to my companions are taking refuge in the safe confines of portable hard drive. This is the most played song in my catalogue, The Black Keys in their early days when they were a bit more blues based covering a set of Junior Kimbrough songs, just a stunning song lyrically and both versions are perfect!

Like beef and red wine, there are some genres of music that just suit certain cooking styles better. For me it doesn’t get better than soulful, deep, old school blues and baking. Give me Stevie Ray Vaughn, Robert Johnson, Muddy Mississippi Waters, BB King, Arthur Big Boy Cruddup anyway of the week and the creative juices just flow. The lyrics about poverty, struggles with drugs and alcohol and of course love bring out a classic side of me, taking me back to the days where the women stayed home and provided for their families in the only way they knew how, by cooking. What was created was a unique relationship of food and music that still stands strong within the culture.

In todays music scene there seems to be lack of love for the blues, particularly in Australia. We don’t get to see new up and comers like the kings of blues, they are rather put into other genres meaning a lack of growth within the genre, which as a massive fan, makes me suffer some blues of my own. We no longer get to experience the display of talent shown in the clip below.

3 thoughts on “Blues

Leave a comment